My Own Private Idaho (1991)

Surreal character study focusing on the friendship between two male hustlers, Mike and Scott, in Portland, Oregon. They live on the streets, do drugs, and sell themselves to men and women. Mike is quiet, gay and suffers from narcolepsy. Abandoned as a child, he is obsessed with finding his long-lost mother. Scott is the rebellious son of a high-ranking family, who lives this life mostly to embarrass his father. Mike is in love with Scott, who still maintains he is straight and insists that his wild lifestyle on the streets is only temporary. Together, they embark on a quest to find Mike’s mother, traveling from Portland to Idaho to Italy, with Scott picking up a beautiful girl along the way.

Cast:

River Phoenix as Mike Waters
Keanu Reeves as Scott Favor
James Russo as Richard Waters
William Richert as Bob Pigeon
Rodney Harvey as Gary
Chiara Caselli as Carmela
Michael Parker as Digger
Jessie Thomas as Denise
Flea as Budd
Grace Zabriskie as Alena
Tom Troupe as Jack Favor
Udo Kier as Hans

For me, the story was quite confusing, the conflict between character was complicated and I felt that the ending of this movie was somehow “rushed”.

nonetheless, for those of you who is a fan of Keanu Reeves might enjoy this movie 😛

but I still prefer Keanu as Officer Jack Traven on “Speed” *yummy*

Best quote:

Mike Waters: Well, I don’t know. I mean… I mean, for me, I could love someone even if I, you know, wasn’t paid for it… I love you, and… you don’t pay me.

trailer:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xA0U0otWuzE

Leave a Reply

